Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


After a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19, the Fullerton College Athletics Department welcomed student-athletes, parents, faculty, and administration back into the Hornets Nest on Tuesday afternoon for the 23rd Academic Athletic Awards honoring excellence in academics and athletic achievement.

It was a momentous year where all sports were able to fully get back into action, were Fullerton College Athletics experienced success.  Winning conference titles were women's water polo under head coach Gabriel Martinez and men's basketball under head coach Perry Webster. Individually, in women's golf, Chelsey Gutierrez won the Orange Empire Conference title.

There were many student-athletes from the 2021-22 season that had remarkable success in the classroom and on the field. Athletic Director Scott Giles, along with the FC coaches, handed out awards to deserving sophomore athletes for them to continue their education and succeed at the next level.

A Special Recognition award was given to longtime administrative assistant Anita Ward, who will be retiring in June. Named "The Wizard" by Hall of Fame football coach Gene Murphy, Ward has been the central nervous system of a P.E. / Athletics Department that serves as one of the best in the state.

There were quite a few (near 150) Fullerton College student-athletes that were recognized as Hornet Scholars maintaining a 3.0 G.P.A. or higher completing at least 24 units. All of this would not have been possible if not for the tireless efforts of the FC faculty and staff. 

The Academic Athletic Awards was the brainchild of beloved former Head Football Coach Gene Murphy who poured his heart and soul into furthering the education of Fullerton College student-athletes. Athletic Director Scott Giles has done an excellent job in keeping the torch lit for Coach Murphy's tradition by creating an atmosphere on campus where students-athletes are rewarded for their efforts, and given the proper tools to help further their success not only on the playing field but also in life.

The 2021-22 award recipients are as follows:

Donna Cherry Most Inspirational Player Award
Junior Wily (football)

Bud Dawson Character Award
Steve Perez (m. soccer)

Ed Carroll Leadership Award
Cindy Suarez (w. soccer/lacrosse)

Mike Steinkellner Scholar Athlete Award
Dominic Martinez (baseball)

Arthur Nunn Multi-Sports Award
Charley Jackson (w. water polo/swim & dive)

Colleen Riley Memorial Women's Basketball Scholarship
Janelle Ramos

Bob Lenard Memorial Women's Basketball Scholarship
Celeise Moreno

Hal Sherbeck Memorial Football Scholarship
Branedn Rankins

Mike Sgobba Memorial Baseball Scholarship
Joel Martinez 

Margo Davis Innovator/Leadership Award
Casey Dufrene (softball)

Bill Chambers Athletic Training Award
Juju Seki

Dr. Philip McFarland Memorial Award
Daphne Peron

The Female Hornet Award
Chelsey Gutierrez (w. golf)

The Male Hornet Award
Jordan Wright (football)

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year
Sarah Ramberg

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
Daniel O'Nell

Coach of the Year
Gabriel Martinez (w. water polo / swim)

Female Athlete of the Year
Faith Webb

Male Athlete of the Year
Chazz Hutchison


W. Golf

Gutierrez, Chelsey

Gimpl, Sydney

W. Basketball

Flores Salguero, Katherine

Zendejas, Angela

Vasquez, Amanda      

Ramos, Janelle           

Moreno, Celise

M. Basketball  

O'Neil, Daniel

Odinigwe, David

Newman, Sean

Ramirez, Gaven          

Hutchison, Chasdon    

Blackmon, Ryan

Jones, Javon   


Barba, Michael

Elmasry, Carson

Brogden, Timothy Zach

Edwards, Traair

Obas Cahuaza, Isyah

Smith, Jordan

Udengwu, Edwin

Macek, Giovanni

Sullivan, Ryan

Blackney, Matthew

Bediako, Jesi

Santillan, Oscar

Byers, Charles

Paul, Emmanuel

Thomas, DeJonte       

Unda, Marlon  

St. Julien, Kanyon

Griffin, Elijah  

Wily, Junior

Ramirez, Nathan

Remme, Holden

Brown, Chandler

Rankins, Banden

Sattler, Peyton

Rice, Jordan

Thompson, Elisha

Barnes, Devin             

Vazquez, Gil

Silva, Ugonna (George)

Lopez, Julian


Martinez, Dominic

Twist, Tristan

Mendoza, Xavier

Osuna, DeNiro

Paschal, Garrett

Vera, Jose

Kostyk, Garrett

Malerba, Marco

Armstrong, Adam

Blumberg, James

McClure, Jacob

Flores, Ryan    

Vera, Jose

Martinez, Joel

Vega, Daniel  

Janes, Jack

Madrid, Anthony

Curatolo, Michael


Gonzalez Gutierrez, Nicole

Pevehouse, Madison

Klenske, Nicole

Samano, Skye

Haro, Alyssa

W. Soccer

Ramberg, Sarah

Moreno, Jordan

Merrifield, Ashley

Hernandez, Julia

Salmeron, Elizabeth

Suarez , Cindy            

Cole, Madison

Gonzalez, Nadia

Ledesma, Madelynn

M. Soccer

Gomez, Arnold

Marsh, Giovanni

Espinoza, Joshua

Silva, Rogelio

Leon Camberos, Gerardo

Saldivar, Christian

Shankar, Zachary

Westwood, Derek         

Coombs, Tanner

Lozano, Pablo

Coombs, Travis           

Alvarez, Brian

Anido, Alex

Meinardus, Ryan         

Espinoza, Joseph

Ramirez, Andres

Aleman, Jonathan

Perez, Ivan

Perez, Steve

Salinas, Adcel

Hernandez, Rodney    

Ramirez, Eduardo

Zamora, Ceasar

Pasos, Rodrigo

Salazar, Pablo            

Aragon, Kevin 

Anaya, Diego

Vega, Oscar    

Tamayo, Alexis

Ibarra, Sergio

W. Volleyball/Beach

Domingo, Alicia         

Hauser, Alexa 

Tuckfield, Callie

Zander, Alexis

Elorriaga, Brianne

Webb, Faith

Wilmes, Johannah

Swanson, Samantha

Owens, Kaiya

Johnson, Chloe

May, Gwyneth 

M. Volleyball

Mazuco, Jaroszewski

Delgado-Tietze, Andrew

Kennedy, John

Thomson, Jason         

Perez, Gonzalez

Soriano, Damian

Rudy, Justin

W. Aquatics

Jackson, Charley

Lechuga, Samantha

Moreno, Margarita

Zhou, Estelle

Navarro, Emily

Mendoza, Americul

Lughart, Jordyn

Powers, Sarah

Torres, Neida

Whittingham, Kathryn 

M. Aquatics

Villa, Julian

Villa, Jonathan

Jaievsky, Nathan

W. Cross Country/Track

Cervantes, Isis 

Castillo, Jessica

M. Cross Country/Track

Vargas, Ivan

Chavatipon, Orion

Chapman, Christopher

Olivas, Isaac

W. Tennis

Trujillo, Samantha     

M. Tennis20

Merritt, Scott