Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


Misael Gonzalez not only helped lead his Hornets to the 2022 Orange Empire Conference men's soccer title, the freshman forward out of Fullerton High was also named the conference's Most Valuable Player, as voted on by the conference's head coaches at their postseason meeting.

The first to land the MVP award in the program's history, Gonzalez has played in 19 matches for the Hornets and has racked up 12 goals and five assists for 29 points, helping FC to a 13-4-4 overall record and a 9-1-2 mark in the OEC. In conference play, Gonzalez was tied with Irvine Valley College's Grant Miller in points with 21 and his eight goals were second-most among all conference players.

For the third time in four years, FC head coach Greg Aviles was named Coach of the Year, while a foursome of his Hornet players – Angel Sevillano, Jose Estrada, Luis Chavez-Esparza and Cooper Clark earned 1st team honors. Earning 2nd Team honors were Diego Anaya, Joseph Espinoza, and Cesar Zamora.

Known as one of the best defenders in the state, Angel Sevillano earned All-State and All-Region honors, while GK Jose Estrada, forward Misael Gonzalez were All-Region selections.

Up Next - Round 2 SoCal Regional Playoffs: The No. 3 (South) Hornets host No. 19 Cuyamaca College this Saturday, November 19th at 2:00 pm. Cuyamaca upset No. 14 Cypress on Wedensday 1-0 in double overtime. Watch the game live and free here!

Orange Empire Conference - All Conference – First Team

OEC MVP - Misael Gonzalez, Fullerton

Coach of the Year - Greg Aviles, Fullerton

Angel Sevillano, Fullerton, Freshman, Defender
Jose Estrada, Fullerton, Sophomore, Goalkeeper
Luis Chavez-Esparza, Fullerton, Sophomore, Forward
Cooper Clark, Fullerton, Sophomore, Defender
Logan Garcia, Cypress, Sophomore, Defender
Julio Perez, Cypress, Sophomore, Forward
Braulio Morales, Cypress, Sophomore, Midfielder
Christopher Ayala, Golden West, Sophomore, Defender
Jose Amaya, Golden West, Sophomore, Defender
Jesus Nino, Golden West, Freshman, Midfielder
Antonio Wall, Santa Ana, Sophomore, Defender
Jesse Mancilla, Santa Ana, Sophomore, Midfielder
Grant Miller, Irvine Valley, Freshman, Forward
Lennart Granzow, Irvine Valley, Freshman, Defender
Jared Velazquez, Orange Coast, Sophomore, Defender
Bryce Allen, Santiago Canyon, Sophomore, Forward

Orange Empire Conference - All Conference – Second Team

Cesar Zamora, Fullerton, Sophomore, Midfield
Joseph Espinoza, Fullerton, Sophomore, Forward
Diego Anaya, Fullerton ,Sophomore, Forward
Jack Yeager, Cypress, Freshman, Defender
R J Carroll, Cypress, Sophomore, Defender
Kyle O Brien, Cypress, Sophomore, Defender
Manny Tovar, Golden West, Sophomore, Midfield
Diego Useda, Golden West, Sophomore, Forward
Jordan Bueno, Santa Ana, Freshman, Forward
Vincent Lopez, Santa Ana, Freshman, Midfield
Julian Svoboda, Irvine Valley, Sophomore, Midfield
Tygo Steenvoorden, Irvine Valley, Freshman, Goalkeeper
Alfonso Morales, Orange Coast, Freshman, Defender
Will Hooper, Orange Coast, Sophomore, Midfield
Tai Navarette, Santiago Canyon, Sophomore, Midfield
Corey Peterson, Santiago Canyon, Sophomore, Defender